Perception

This is my day 4 slice (written on day 5).  All the stuff was happening yesterday.  ALL.  THE. STUFF.

Earlier in the week…

Running five minutes behind, I am rushing to work.  You all know this battle.  The kids are in the car, I ran in to check the hot iron (am I the only one who thinks I’ll burn down the house because I forget to turn it off?), and grab the coffee.  I can tell we’re late because the it’s lighter than it should be.  I push the garage door button and the reliable trucka, trucka, trucka suddenly halts and is replaced with a thud and screech.  The garage door stops.  NO. NO. NO. I push the button and it makes its way down without problems.  I say a little prayer and push it again.  Trucka, trucka…THUD.  I yell vile words at this point.  Don’t worry, the kids are in the car, remember?  And, luckily, the car is in the driveway.

The whole day at work I worry about how much it’s going to cost to fix the garage door.  I start calculating how much I’ll need to cut the beer grocery budget and mentally sort through my belongings to see what I can sell.  I get garage door people recommendations. I try to figure out a day when I can even be home to even have it repaired.  I wonder how terrible the stench will be since the trash can can’t be taken to the curb.  THIS IS NOT HAPPENING!

Today…

I start a load of laundry and decide to look at the garage door since I’m out there.  I walk over and see that my long, metal watering attachment was wedged against the edge of the door.  I yank it out and mutter to myself about stupidity and paying attention.  I push the opener and trucka, trucka, trucka, click.  Thank you, thank you , thank you.  I yell in the house, “kids, I fixed the door”!

This made me think.  How did I miss this on Tuesday?  It was literally right in front of my face.  I did not see what was right in front of me.  What else am I missing because I’m not looking?  I jumped straight to anger instead of problem solving and spent days worrying because of it.  Universe, I’m paying attention.  I’m going to make sure I’m flexing that genius indicator and activating my curiosity.  Instead of reacting, I’ll think…CRASH!  “BOYS, that better not have been something of mine!  Y’all are grounded!”

 

5 thoughts on “Perception

  1. You have great voice in your writing. I love the stricken material. Talk about reading through the lines! I wish I could share that it gets better. But I truly live in fear of an empty house and find a second to cherish this chaos every day.

    Like

  2. Hahaha! Love your post. This has definitely happened to me more times than I can count. It has happened often with tech issues at school. So, now I check everything, even stuck wires, and more often than not I can solve my own “tech” problems without calling on the tech department. Noticing and being present is something I need to work on, too. Glad the garage door was an easy fix!

    Like

  3. Ha! Your slices crack me up!!! I’m glad you fixed the garage door. I know all about running late and hoping two little boys don’t hear every single word I say. My two guys are 14 and 16; and they still get caught up in my chaos.

    Like

Leave a Reply

