Transformation Tuesday

There’s a whole lotta change going on in my world, especially in the work world.  I’m in my fourth year as an instructional coach and wow, things are evolving.  I think back to who I was a few years ago and I am amazed by some of the transformations – my thinking, my beliefs, what I know to be true…

Shocker, but my focus this year is on actually coaching my teachers a considerable amount of time.  That’s not to say I’m the expert, but rather experiencing what they are experiencing and rolling with it.

My boyfriend is a high school coach = gone a lot  busy.  Many times when I see him, it’s on the field/court.  One game I had a revelation.  He gives feedback to kids immediately.  He encourages them.  He is their advocate.  He is right there with them.  He takes the plan and modifies based on his current situation.  I might have been told a few times that I overthink (see the genius post) things…so obviously this made me think of my job.

His instant feedback CHANGES his players’ actions.  RIGHT THEN.  Why am I not coaching teachers like players?  They are playing the most important game ever.

I’ve been reading up on the Hattie factors and BAM.  IT ALL GOES TOGETHER!  ALL THE THINGS.  I felt like the crazy holograph picture just 3Ded and materialized.

Coaches can help us coach.

 

4 thoughts on “Transformation Tuesday

  1. I thought I left a comment on this yesterday!! Hmmm. Let me repeat – I think it is so fun that you learned more about coaching from your coach boyfriend. And I wonder, do sports coaches just give positive feedback or almost specific instructions in the moment? I know the beginning teacher I am coaching right now really really really hates my “I need you to…” or “how about you…” comments on the fly, and I have had to learn with her to just say compliments in the moment and save the negative for conversations. Just wondering.

    Like

  2. Love your reflections from seeing your boyfriend coach. I am thinking how great positive comments are in the moment. Negative insights – probably should be saved for later! Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  3. We all deserve a good coach. However, I think sometimes that instructional coaches should not always be too quick to offer feedback to teachers as a sports coach does. I found during my years as a literacy coach that it was more powerful to be a listener and let the teacher talk while I asked questions. There was nothing I loved more than when the teacher ended up coaching herself, finding answers through her own talk. All I had to do was listen. Our goal is to help teachers do that and to work our way out of a job, right??? :-))) Loved your post – so reflective!

    Like

Leave a Reply

